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FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS
2023 GIRLS’ HIGH SCHOOL LACROSSE RULES

CHECKING POCKET DEPTH

Q: How does the official check pocket depth during crosse inspection?
A: The official drops the ball into the pocket of a horizontally held crosse to see if the top of the
ball remains above the sidewall of the crosse.

Q: May officials press down on the ball or roll the ball with their hand while it is in the crosse to
make sure the pocket depth is legal?
A: No. Officials shall not apply pressure to the ball or roll the ball with their hand.

STARTING PLAY AT THE DRAW

Q: How many players may a team have between the restraining lines during the draw?
A: A maximum of 3.

Q: If a team has less than 3 players between the restraining lines, may a second or third player
below the restraining line cross the restraining line before the official’s hand is in contact
with both sticks?

A: Yes.

Q: If ateam has less than 3 players between the restraining lines, may a second or third player
below the restraining line cross the restraining line after the official’s hand is in contact with
both sticks?

A: No.

Q: What happens if the second or third player below the restraining line crosses the restraining
line after the official’s hand is in contact with both sticks but before the restraining line is
released?

A: A minor foul for early entry on the draw is assessed to the player who crossed the restraining
line. The opponent is awarded a free position at the spot of the ball at least 4 meters inside
the boundary line.

Q: May a player between the restraining lines during the draw cross back over to a position
below the restraining line after the official’s hand is in contact with both sticks?
A: Yes.

SELF-STARTS IN THE CRITICAL SCORING AREA

Q: When is a player allowed to self-start in the critical scoring area (CSA)?
A: When there is a foul by the offensive and a free position is awarded to a player in their
defensive end of the field and the game clock is not stopped.

Q: May a player self-start in the CSA when awarded a free position in their defensive end during
the last two minutes of a half?

A: Not during stop clock play because the game clock stops for fouls in the CSA during the last
two minutes of a half. The player may self-start during the last two minutes of a half during a
running clock.
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Q: Where is the free position awarded in the CSA to a player in their defensive end of the field?

A: At the spot of the foul unless the clock is stopped. If the clock is stopped, the free position is
awarded at the spot of the foul at least 8 meters from the goal circle and 4 meters inside the
boundary.

Q: Where does the offending player move when a free position is awarded for a minor foul in the
CSA to a player in their defensive end?

A: 4 meters away in the direction from which the offending player approached before committing
the foul.

Q: Where does the offending player move when a free position is awarded for a major foul in the
CSA to a player in their defensive end?

A: 4 meters behind. If the free position is closer than 4 meters to the goal circle, the offender
shall move four meters behind and to the side of the free position.

Q: May a player awarded a free position in the CSA in their defensive end self-start before all
players are 4 meters away?
A Yes.

Q: When a player has the option to self-start in the CSA, may they wait and start on the official’s
whistle?

A: Yes. A self-start is not required. If the player waits for the official’s whistle, the location of the
free position remains at the spot of the foul.

ALTERNATE POSSESSION

Q: How is the penalty administered when there are offsetting fouls and one of the fouls requires
issuance of a card?

A: Alternate possession does not apply. A free position is awarded to the team that was not
issued the card. The player serving the card leaves the field to serve penalty time.

Q: How is the penalty administered when there are offsetting fouls and a card is issued to both
teams?

A: Alternate possession applies. A free possession is awarded to the team designated to have
the alternate possession. Players serving the card from both teams leave the field to serve
penalty time.

Q: Does alternate possession indicator change when there are offsetting fouls and one of the
fouls requires issuance of the card?

A: No. Alternate possession does not apply, and the alternate possession indicator does not
change.

GOAL CIRCLE

Q: May the goalkeeper or deputy run into the goal circle with the ball in their crosse?
A: Yes, if it is a situation where the rules allow the goalkeeper or deputy to enter the goal circle
with the ball.

Q: When may the goalkeeper or deputy carry or propel the ball into the goal circle?
A: There are two situations when this is legal:
Situation #1:
o The goalkeeper or deputy has possession of the ball in the goal circle.
o They clear the ball by passing or carrying the ball out of the goal circle.
e The ball is played.
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o The goalkeeper or deputy gains possession of the ball outside the goal circle.
o The goalkeeper may carry or propel the ball into the goal circle.

Situation #2
e The ball is in play outside of the goal circle.
e The goalkeeper or deputy gain possession of the ball outside the goal circle.
o The goalkeeper or deputy may carry or propel the ball into the goal circle.

Q: What must occur for a ball to be “played"?

A. A ballis played when it leaves a players crosse and the ball is touched by another player, or
the crosse of the player with the ball is checked buy an opponent (even if the ball is not
dislodged from the crosse), or when play is stopped due to a foul. This is an existing rule,
not a rule change.

THREE SECONDS

Q: Where is the free position awarded when there is a three-second violation when the ball is
outside the CSA and above the goal line extended?
A: At the 12-meter fan closest to the spot of the ball.

Q: How is the free position at the 12-meter fan administered?

A: A free position is awarded to the player in possession of the ball when the foul was called.
The offending player is placed 4 meters behind. The penalty lane is cleared. Play resumes
on the official’s whistle.

Q: May the player awarded the free position at a 12-meter fan self-start?
A: No. This is a foul by the defense that occurred in the critical scoring area. Self-starts are not
an option when there is a defensive foul in the critical scoring area.
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