Skip to main content
Defending champion BC Club is the No. 1 seed for USA Lacrosse's WCLA Division I Championship Tournament and hopes to celebrate a second straight title in 2023.

Teams, Seedings Announced for 2023 USA Lacrosse WCLA National Championships

April 19, 2023
USA Lacrosse Magazine Staff
Lance Wendt

SPARKS, Md. (April 19, 2023) — Defending champion Boston College Club has received the No. 1 seed in the Division I bracket of the 2023 USA Lacrosse Women’s Collegiate Lacrosse Associates (WCLA) National Championships, while Utah Valley University earned the No. 1 seed in the Division II field.

The WCLA National Championships showcase the nation’s premier non-varsity collegiate women’s teams and will be played May 9-12 at the Princess Anne Athletic Complex and Sportsplex in Virginia Beach, Va.

Featuring 16 Division I and 12 Division II teams, the tournament fields are comprised of a combination of teams earning automatic qualifiers as league champions and teams earning at-large berths.

Boston College Club earns the top seed for the second straight year and brings a 30-game winning streak into the championship, a streak that dates back to the start of the 2022 campaign. The Eagles are 14-0 this season and enter this year’s tournament as the automatic qualifier and champion from the Northeast Women's Lacrosse League (NWLL). BC is making its 10th overall and sixth straight appearance in the WCLA championship tournament.

Georgia (17-2) received the number two seed after winning its seventh straight Southeastern Women’s Lacrosse League (SWLL) title. The Bulldogs were national champion in 2016 and are making their 15th overall tournament appearance. Pittsburgh Club, national champion in both 2014 and 2019, is seeded third, and Michigan Club (11-6) is the number four seed.

In the Division II field, Utah Valley (14-1) earned the top seed for the second straight season and is making its third overall appearance in the championship tournament. The Wolverines were the 2023 champions of the Rocky Mountain Women's Lacrosse League (RMWLL).

New Hampshire Club (10-2-1), making its fourth appearance in the championship tournament, is the number two seed after finishing as the Northeast Women’s Lacrosse League’s Division II champion. Fellow NWLL members Vermont Club (7-2-1) and Providence (6-3-2) received the number three and four seeds, respectively.   

The WCLA features over 150 Division I and Division II teams that compete under the USA Lacrosse umbrella. The annual WCLA National Championship began in 2001 with a Division I tournament. The Division II championship was added in 2010.

Selections for the championship tournament are based on a variety of criteria, including, overall record, record versus ranked teams, results versus common opponents, quality wins/quality losses, head-to-head results, conference playoff performance, final conference standings, and more.

Both the D-I and D-II national semifinal and championship games on May 11 & 12 will be available for viewing via free streaming.

DJO and Gatorade serve as the official event partners for the 2023 USA Lacrosse WCLA National Championships.

The Division I and II teams, seedings and season records are listed below.


No. 1 Boston College Club (14-0)
No. 2 University of Georgia (17-2)
No. 3 University of Pittsburgh (7-2) 
No. 4 University of Michigan Club (11-6)
No. 5 University of Utah (9-2)
No. 6 Brigham Young University (9-5)  
No. 7 San Diego State University Club (12-3)
No. 8 University of Florida Club (12-3)
No. 9 Univ. of California, Los Angeles (9-4)
No. 10 Northeastern University (7-4)
No. 11 University of Texas (13-4)
No. 12 University of Virginia Club (8-6)
No. 13 Arizona State University Club (10-6) 
No. 14 University of Washington (7-2)
No. 15 Michigan State University (12-3)
No. 16 Florida State University (12-2)


No. 1 Utah Valley (14-1)
No. 2 New Hampshire Club (10-2-1)
No. 3 Vermont Club (7-2-1)
No. 4 Providence (6-3-2)
No. 5 Denver Club (10-3)
No. 6 CSU San Marcos (12-1)
No. 7 Boise State (7-5)
No. 8 Santa Barbara City (10-1)
No. 9 Air Force Academy (2-5)
No. 10 Portland (7-4)
No. 11 Portland State (6-2)
No. 12 Pacific Lutheran (5-5)

More information about the 2023 USA Lacrosse WCLA National Championships, including game schedules and competition brackets, will be posted online at as they are finalized.

USA Lacrosse and WCLA Hosting Youth Player Clinic on May 10 in Virginia Beach.

This year, USA Lacrosse and the WCLA are collaborating on a youth player clinic in conjunction with the WCLA Championship Tournament. Intended for girls in grades 6-12, the clinic (6-8 pm) will be staffed by top collegiate club coaches and players who are competing in the championship tournament. The cost of the clinic is $25 per player, and includes a practice pinnie. For more details and to register, please click here and then scan the QR code, or visit the online registration page directly