Skip to main content
New Canaan's Gray Tamasco.

USA Lacrosse High School Boys' Players of the Week

May 15, 2024
USA Lacrosse Magazine Staff
Luke Noonan

The USA Lacrosse Players of the Week recognize the most outstanding individual performances in high school boys’ lacrosse in each of the five regions — Northeast, Mid-Atlantic, South, Midwest and West — outlined in our high school coverage. Games are considered from the previous Monday through Sunday.


Gray Tamasco, New Canaan (Conn.)

After missing the first 11 games of the season with a hamstring injury, Gray Tamasco is back with a vengeance. The New Canaan (Conn.) defenseman helped lead the Rams to wins over Fairfield-Warde (Conn.) and Wilton (Conn.), which came on the heels of victories over Darien (Conn.) and Staples (Conn.).

The Richmond-bound senior had two goals and one assist against Wilton and limited some of Connecticut’s best teams to seven combined goals.

Tamasco is one of five Division I committed defenders for the Rams, joining close defenders Dillon Stephens (Syracuse), Bryce Lyden (Michigan) and Brayden Robie (Boston University) and long-stick midfielder Will Hayes (Denver), while SSDM Thomas Garcia is committed to Washington & Lee.

It’s the best defense Buzzeo has seen at New Canaan since he started coaching the Rams in 2013. The team is averaging 4.6 goals against per game and held 10 opponents to five goals or less.

“Gray is our best vocal leader,” New Canaan coach Chip Buzzeo said. “When he is on the field, he helps everyone around him. He communicates so well.”

Also notable: Ryan Backus, Fairfield Prep (Conn.); Sean Forde, St. Anthony’s (N.Y.); Sean Kellish, Fayetteville-Manlius (N.Y.); Connor Kuttin, Chaminade (N.Y.); Hunter Mezzatesta, Yorktown (N.Y.); Frank Tuminello, Brewster (N.Y.)

— Dylan Butler


Aidan Seibel, McDonogh (Md.)

The junior goalkeeper has been a steady presence since jumping in the cage mid-season last year. He hasn’t come out since then. Seibel stopped 11 shots to give third-seeded McDonogh a chance to rally and top Loyola Blakefield (Md.) 7-6 in overtime in the MIAA quarterfinals.

Seibel and the Eagles also held Gilman (Md.) in check in the regular-season finale for an 11-6 win that wrapped up the No. 3 seed as the Eagles go for a third straight MIAAA championship. Seibel is committed to Maryland.

Also notable: Heath Jones, Malvern (Pa.); Andrew Kasten, McDonogh (Md.); Ian Murphy, Marriotts Ridge (Md.); Timmy Sullivan, Severna Park (Md.); Jacob Summers, Century (Md.); John Webb, Radnor (Pa.); Jay Wilkerson, Gilman (Md.)

— Justin Feil


Jayden Vega, Benjamin (Fla.)

After a scary moment in the middle of the 2024 season, Jayden Vega finished the season in impressive fashion. Vega scored six goals and an assist in Benjamin’s semifinal win over Bolles (Fla.). He then added four goals and an assist in the finals against Community School of Naples (Fla.). Vega missed six games in the middle of the season after suffering an in-game medical emergency.

Also notable: Sean Browne, Episcopal School of Dallas (Texas); Caden Harshbarger, Lake Mary (Fla.); Ezra Moore, Roswell (Ga.)

— Justin Boggs


Jake Struck, Olentangy Liberty (Ohio)

Junior Jake Struck has continued to excel against top competition. His eight goals in a tight win over one of Ohio’s best, St. Xavier, was just the latest example. Earlier this season, the Ohio State commit notched four goals and two assists apiece against one of Indiana’s best (Hamilton Southeastern) and a top in-state foe (Hudson).

Also notable: Nick Edwards, Detroit Catholic Central (Mich.); Khalif Hocker, St. Xavier (Ohio); Lachlan Moffatt, Detroit Catholic Central (Mich.); Sam Old, Upper Arlington (Ohio); Cashton Papadelis, Brother Rice (Mich.); Jack Tocko, Prior Lake (Minn.)

— Jonah Rosenblum


Austin Hicks, St. Margaret’s Episcopal (Calif.)

Wearing the number 4, senior attack Hicks (Duke) capped his fourth season with four goals and a championship ring to help cement the 2024 Tartans squad in CIF-SS D1 history.

Also notable: James Dakin, Sacred Heart Prep (Calif.); Harry Luong, Valor Christian (Colo.); Eben O’Brien, St. Margaret’s Episcopal (Calif.); Colin Puckett, Marin Catholic (Calif.); Max Stifter, Castle View (Colo.)

— Theresa Palmquist