Skip to main content
Eric Dobson recorded career highs in points (45), goals (34) and assists (11) in 2023.

USA Lacrosse Announces 2024 Division I Men's Preseason All-Americans

January 17, 2024
USA Lacrosse Magazine Staff
Jeff Myers/Notre Dame

As part of the publication’s coverage heading into the 2024 NCAA lacrosse season, USA Lacrosse Magazine announced on Wednesday the USA Lacrosse Division I Men’s Preseason All-Americans, highlighting the top players at every position heading into the spring.

Defending national champion Notre Dame tops all schools with seven All-Americans, paced by four first-team honorees — attackman Pat Kavanagh, midfielder Eric Dobson, short-stick defensive midfielder Ben Ramsey and goalie Liam Entenmann.

Duke, the 2023 national runner-up, was the only other school to earn multiple first-team nods. Attackman Brennan O’Neill, defenseman Kenny Brower and faceoff specialist Jake Naso highlight Duke’s six All-Americans. Maryland and Virginia also scored six players on the All-American teams, while Army, Johns Hopkins, Penn State and Syracuse have five players scattered throughout the three teams and honorable mentions.

Continue below to see the full 2024 USA Lacrosse Division I Men’s Preseason All-American list.



A – Brennan O’Neill, Duke 
A – Pat Kavanagh, Notre Dame
A – Connor Shellenberger, Virginia 
A – CJ Kirst, Cornell 
M – Eric Dobson, Notre Dame
M – Graham Bundy Jr., Georgetown 
M – Shane Knobloch, Rutgers 
D – Kenny Brower, Duke
D – Ajax Zappitello, Maryland
D – AJ Pilate, Army
LSM – Roy Meyer, Boston University
SSDM – Beau Pederson, Michigan
SSDM – Ben Ramsey, Notre Dame
FO – Jake Naso, Duke
G – Liam Entenmann, Notre Dame


A – Coulter Mackesy, Princeton
A – Matt Brandau, Yale
A – TJ Malone, Penn State
M – Jake Stevens, Syracuse
M – Matt Traynor, Penn State 
M – Alexander Vardaro, Georgetown 
D – Cole Kastner, Virginia 
D – Mason Woodward, Marquette 
D – Jackson Bonitz, Navy 
LSM – Jake Piseno, UAlbany 
SSDM – Brett Martin, Johns Hopkins 
SSDM – Grant Haus, Penn State 
FO – Justin Wietfeldt, Michigan 
G – Jack Fracyon, Penn State


A – Joey Spallina, Syracuse 
A – Michael Boehm, Michigan 
A – Payton Cormier, Virginia 
M – Matt Collison, Johns Hopkins 
M – Griffin Schutz, Virginia 
M – Jacob Morin, Army 
D – Jack Posey, Penn State 
D – Scott Smith, Johns Hopkins 
D – Brendan Lavelle, Penn 
LSM – Tyler Carpenter, Duke 
SSDM – Dylan Hess, Georgetown 
SSDM – Patrick Hackler, Yale
FO – Luke Wierman, Maryland 
G – Matt Knote, UMass 


A – Chris Lyons, Yale 
A – JP Ward, Delaware 
A – Ross Scott, Rutgers 
A – Chris Kavanagh, Notre Dame 
A – Reese Burek, Army 
A – Dyson Williams, Duke 
A – Dalton Young, Richmond 
A – Braden Erksa, Maryland 
A – Vince D’Alto, Boston University
A – Scott Cole, Lehigh 
A – Mike Robinson, Delaware
A – Dylan Pallonetti, Stony Brook 
A – Josh Zawada, Duke 
A – Adam Poitras, Loyola 
A – Russell Melendez, Johns Hopkins
M – Evan Plunkett, Army 
M – Levi Anderson, Saint Joseph’s 
M – Thomas Greenblatt, Ohio State 
M – Michael Chabra, Providence 
M – Lance Madonna, Richmond 
M – Max Hewitt, Navy 
M – Christian Ronda, Michigan 
M – Sam English, Syracuse
M – Evan James, Loyola 
M – Hugh Kelleher, Cornell
D – Paul Barton, North Carolina 
D – Jackson Canfield, Maryland 
D – Mitchell Dunham, Mount St. Mary’s 
D – Reid Colwell, Villanova 
D – Jack DiBenedetto, Denver 
D – Patrick Morrison, Boston University
D – Bobby Van Buren, Ohio State 
D – Pace Billings, Princeton 
D – Jack Follows, Cornell
LSM – AJ Mercurio, Denver 
LSM – Jack Stuzin, Yale 
LSM – Will Donovan, Notre Dame 
LSM – Richard Checo, Lehigh 
LSM – Nick Alviti, Maryland
SSDM – Pat Murphy, Vermont 
SSDM – Noah Chizmar, Virginia
SSDM – Chase Yager, Virginia
SSDM – Jackson Peters, Navy
SSDM – Jake Titus, Syracuse
SSDM – Tucker Garrity, Jacksonville
FO – Will Coletti, Army
FO – Tommy Burke, Ohio State
FO – Alec Stathakis, Denver
FO – Will Lynch, Notre Dame
G – Logan McNaney, Maryland
G – Michael Gianforcaro, Princeton
G – Will Mark, Syracuse
G – Chayse Ierlan, Johns Hopkins