Skip to main content

Homer Schwartz Leadership Award

Honoring volunteer leaders who help grow the game from coast-to-coast.

We know that the success of any local lacrosse organization lies with its volunteer leaders, and we want to recognize these selfless individuals who give back to the game. For that reason, USA Lacrosse created the Homer Schwartz Leadership Award in 2014 to honor a USA Lacrosse chapter leader who embodies the qualities of passion and dedication that Homer provided as a longtime chapter volunteer.

Who was Homer Schwartz?

Homer Schwartz served as president of the Potomac Chapter of USA Lacrosse for 14 years and passed away in 2012. Due in large measure to his enthusiastic leadership, selfless service, and contagious love for the game, Potomac’s membership grew from 1,200 to 10,000 during his tenure.

The Prior Winners

Homer Schwartz Leadership Award
2022 • Christianne Malone, Detroit United Lacrosse
2021 ª Mike Nelson, Long Island Metropolitan Lacrosse Foundation
2020 Dave Cerny, North Coast Ohio Chapter
2019 • Donna Rose, South Florida Chapter (posthumously awarded)
2018 Scott Growney, Eastern Pennsylvania Chapter
2017 Clark Bell, Michigan Chapter
2016 Don Aiello, NorCal Chapter
2015 Harry Jacobs, Long Island Metro Chapter
2014 Tamara Boots, St. Louis Chapter (posthumously awarded)
2014 Jim Old, Tidewater Chapter