Skip to main content
Army's Will Coletti.

Tewaaraton Foundation Announces 25 Men's Nominees

April 18, 2024
Press Release
Rich Barnes

WASHINGTON, D.C. — The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the 2024 men’s Tewaaraton Award Nominees. The Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are composed of premier college coaches and are appointed annually by the Tewaaraton Foundation.

Five men’s finalists will be selected from this group, to be announced May 9 at the conclusion of the regular season.

"The Tewaaraton Nominees are a truly exceptional group of student-athletes,” said Andy Phillips, President of the Tewaaraton Foundation. “Their outstanding play has created so many memorable moments and exciting games in 2024, and we fully expect to see more of the same as we head toward the postseason."

The men’s Tewaaraton Award Nominees include players from 18 different schools, led by three from Duke and two each from Maryland, Notre Dame, Penn State, Syracuse and Virginia. In all, 12 men’s players return from last year’s Nominees, including 2023 winner Brennan O’Neill (Duke), 2022 and 2023 finalist Connor Shellenberger (Virginia), 2021 and 2023 finalist Pat Kavanagh (Notre Dame) and CJ Kirst (Cornell), who was a finalist in 2023.


Matt Brandau, Yale — Sr., Attack
Kenny Brower, Duke — Gr., Defense
Graham Bundy Jr., Georgetown — Gr., Midfield
Emmet Carroll, Penn — Sr., Goalie
Will Coletti, Army — Jr., Faceoff
Liam Entenmann, Notre Dame — Gr., Goalie
Jack Fracyon, Penn State — Jr., Goalie
Chayse Ierlan, Johns Hopkins — Gr., Goalie
Cole Kastner, Virginia — Sr., Defense
Pat Kavanagh, Notre Dame — Gr., Attack
Sam King, Harvard — Jr., Attack
CJ Kirst, Cornell — Sr., Attack
Shane Knobloch, Rutgers — Sr., Midfield
Coulter Mackesy, Princeton — Jr., Attack
TJ Malone, Penn State  — Gr., Attack
Will Mark, Syracuse — Gr., Goalie
Brennan O'Neill, Duke — Sr., Attack
Jake Piseno, Albany — Gr., Defense
Connor Shellenberger, Virginia — Gr., Attack
Joey Spallina, Syracuse — So., Attack
Alec Stathakis, Denver — Gr., Faceoff
Luke Wierman, Maryland — Gr., Faceoff
Dalton Young, Richmond — Gr., Attack
Ajax Zappitello, Maryland — Sr., Defense
Josh Zawada, Duke — Gr., Attack

The 2024 Tewaaraton Watch Lists were first unveiled Feb. 18, with additions announced March 7 and March 28. The five men’s finalists will be announced May 9 and will be invited to the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony in Washington, D.C., on May 30.