Skip to main content
College coaches

Same Faces, New Places: The Coaching Carousel

September 8, 2023
USA Lacrosse Magazine Staff

All the talk this time of year — at least since the COVID-19 pandemic rocked the NCAA sports landscape as we formerly knew it — has been about player movement.

But we also must acknowledge the considerable amount of coaching changes, both in the head coach and assistant ranks, that have shaken up Division I college lacrosse entering the fall.

High-profile assistants took, perhaps surprisingly, unheralded head coach openings. Long-tenured head coaches slid back into the assistant ranks, albeit with favorable programs.

What does it all mean? That’s for 2024 to tell us. For now, take a look at what’s transpired during the summer months.


Dartmouth: Sean Kirwan replaces Brendan Callahan
Denver: Matt Brown replaces Bill Tierney (retired)
Lehigh: Will Scudder replaces Kevin Cassese
Manhattan: Doug Sage (interim) replaces John Odierna
Mount St. Mary’s: Chris Ryan replaces Tom Gravante
Queens (N.C.): Nikolas Colpitts replaces Chris Panos


Akron: Elaine Jones replaces Christy Mitchell
Brown: Katrina Dowd replaces Keely McDonald
Bryant: Eileen Ferry replaces Brianna Roche
Detroit Mercy: Madeline Duggan replaces Dwayne Hicks
Drexel: Katie O’Donnell has interim tag removed
East Carolina: Brittany Dipper replaces Amanda Moore
Gardner-Webb: Kathleen Mirgon Crum replaces Maddie Martin
Marist: Keith Detelj replaces Jessica Wilkinson
Ohio State: Amanda Moore replaces Amy Bokker
Oregon: Jessica Drummond replaces Chelsea Hoffmann
Robert Morris: Courtney Grove replaces Katrina Silva
Siena: Danielle Tetreault replaces Abigail Rehfuss
Towson: Kristen Carr replaces Sonia LaMonica
Virginia: Sonia LaMonica replaces Julie Myer
Youngstown State: Rob Harris replaces Kendyl Clarkson


Denver men: David Metzbower replaces Matt Brown
Harvard women: Kenzie Kent added to staff
North Carolina men: Jon Thompson replaces David Metzbower; Dave Pietramala (Syracuse) added to staff
Syracuse men: John Odierna replaces Dave Pietramala
Syracuse women: Abigail Rehfuss replaces Kenzie Kent
Virginia women: Caylee Waters added to staff