Skip to main content
Northwestern's Erin Coykendall.

Tewaaraton Foundation Announces 25 Women's Nominees

April 18, 2024
Press Release
Sophia Scheller

WASHINGTON, D.C. — The Tewaaraton Foundation has announced the 2024 women’s Tewaaraton Award Nominees. The Tewaaraton Award is recognized as the pre-eminent lacrosse award, annually honoring the top male and female college lacrosse player in the United States. The selection committees are composed of premier college coaches and are appointed annually by the Tewaaraton Foundation.

Five women’s finalists will be selected from this group, to be announced May 9 at the conclusion of the regular season.

"The Tewaaraton Nominees are a truly exceptional group of student-athletes,” said Andy Phillips, President of the Tewaaraton Foundation. “Their outstanding play has created so many memorable moments and exciting games in 2024, and we fully expect to see more of the same as we head toward the postseason."

This year’s list of women’s Tewaaraton Award Nominees features players from 15 different schools, led by Boston College, Michigan and Northwestern with three players each and two each for Loyola, Maryland, Notre Dame and Syracuse. In all, 10 players return from the 2023 list of nominees. The 2023 Tewaaraton Award winner Izzy Scane (Northwestern) is one of three returning finalists, including Isabella Peterson (James Madison) and Erin Coykendall (Northwestern). Nominee Emma Tyrrell’s sister Meaghan was a two-time Tewaaraton Finalist, also at Syracuse.


Meghan Ball, Maryland — Gr., Defense
Sydni Black, Loyola — Sr., Attack
Chase Boyle, Loyola — Jr., Midfield
Maddie Burns, Michigan — Sr., Defense
Kasey Choma, Notre Dame — Gr., Midfield
Rachel Clark, Boston College — Jr., Attack
Erin Coykendall, Northwestern — Gr., Attack
Katie DeSimone, Duke — Sr., Attack
Katie Goodale, Syracuse — Sr., Defense
Emily Heller, Florida — Gr., Midfield
Ellie Masera, Stony Brook — Sr., Midfield
Trinity McPherson, Denver — Gr., Defense
Emily Nalls, North Carolina — Gr., Defense
Erin O'Grady, Michigan — Jr., Goalie
Isabella Peterson, James Madison — Sr., Attack
Sydney Scales, Boston College — Sr., Defense
Izzy Scane, Northwestern — Gr., Attack
Morgan Schwab, Virginia — Sr., Attack
Belle Smith, Boston College — Sr., Midfield
Jill Smith, Michigan - Jr., Attack
Cassidy Spilis, Rutgers — Gr., Midfield
Emily Sterling, Maryland — Gr., Goalie
Madison Taylor, Northwestern — So., Attack
Emma Tyrrell, Syracuse — Gr., Attack
Jackie Wolak, Notre Dame — Gr., Attack

The 2024 Tewaaraton Watch Lists were first unveiled Feb. 18, with additions announced March 7 and March 28. The five women’s finalists will be announced May 9 and will be invited to the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony in Washington, D.C., on May 30.