Skip to main content
Taylor Moreno won the Athletes Unlimited Lacrosse championship for the second year in a row.

Taylor Moreno Edges Sam Apuzzo by 12 Points to Win Athletes Unlimited Season 3

August 13, 2023
Kenny DeJohn
Kait Devir/Athletes Unlimited

SPARKS, Md. — For the second summer in a row, Taylor Moreno and Sam Apuzzo vied for the Athletes Unlimited Lacrosse championship. For the second summer in a row, it came down to the final game. And for the second summer in a row, Moreno narrowly edged Apuzzo for the title.

Just 12 points separated the superstar goalie from the All-World attacker, as Moreno clinched the AU Lacrosse championship for the second time Sunday at USA Lacrosse Headquarters. Moreno is the only two-time champion in AU Lacrosse history.

Apuzzo entered Sunday’s season finale trailing Moreno by 189 points. She edged closer and closer with each passing quarter. After Apuzzo’s side won 11-5 and Apuzzo collected first-MVP honors, the gap closed to 12 (1,679-1,667).

Moreno beat Apuzzo by 17 points last summer.

Moreno made nine saves Sunday, breaking her own single-season saves record. That was enough to withstand three goals and one assist from Apuzzo on the individual leaderboard.



1. Taylor Moreno, 1,679
2. Sam Apuzzo, 1,667
3. Kady Glynn, 1,346
4. Abby Bosco, 1,301
5. Britt Read, 1,254
6. Dempsey Arsenault, 1,241
7. Marie McCool, 1,192
8. Lizzie Colson, 1,144
9. Ally Mastroianni, 1,140
10. Courtney Taylor, 1,131


Abby Bosco
Lizzie Colson
Courtney Taylor
Caroline Wakefield

Defensive Player of the Year: Abby Bosco
Teammate of the Year: Mira Shane