Skip to main content

Cindy Timchal

Hall of Fame


Inducted 2012

Inducted as a truly great coach, Timchal was the all-time winningest coach in NCAA women’s lacrosse history, with a 412-108 career record in 30 seasons as a head coach at the time of her induction in 2012. She is the only women’s lacrosse coach to lead three different teams to the NCAA Tournament, having done so with Northwestern University, the University of Maryland and the U.S. Naval Academy. 

Timchal has won the NCAA national championship eight times (1992, 1995-2001) – all at Maryland – and made her 24th NCAA Tournament appearance in 2012, the most all-time among coaches. She was named the IWLCA’s national coach of the year in 1999, and has been named her conference’s coach of the year five times. Timchal was also recognized as the head coach on the NCAA’s 25th Anniversary Team in 2006. As a testimony to her impact in the sport, dozens of her former players have gone on to coach in the college ranks.