Skip to main content

National Teams
| Aug 03, 2022

Graham Bundy Jr and Cole Kirst Named as USA U21 Captains

By USA Lacrosse Staff

Graham Bundy Jr. and Cole Kirst have been elected by their teammates as co-captains for the U.S. team that will compete in the World Lacrosse Men’s U21 World Championship later this month in Limerick, Ireland. The U.S. opens play on Wednesday, Aug. 10 against Canada in a game that will be streamed on ESPN+. The complete U.S. team schedule is available here.

Bundy Jr., the first player from the state of Missouri named to a U.S. national team, has been named an All-American in each of his first two full seasons at Georgetown, earning first team honors from the USILA in 2022 and second team honors in 2021. He had 70 points (45g, 25a) in 2022, the most ever for a Georgetown midfielder.

Kirst has finished up his career at Lehigh and will play as a graduate student at Syracuse in 2023. He had a career-best 34 points for Lehigh in 2021, earning second team All-Patriot League honors. After missing the start of the 2022 season with an injury, he rebounded to finish the season with 30 points, including a career best 12 assists.

In an informal poll of the team by USA Lacrosse Magazine, Bundy and Kirst were named the “heart and soul” of the team.

Kirst will be joined on the team by his younger brother, C.J. Kirst, who was recently named to the final 23-player roster. C.J. Kirst was named the Ivy League Rookie of the Year after scoring 55 goals for Cornell, including seven in a NCAA tournament victory over Ohio State.

Following is the final 23-man roster that will head to Ireland next week:

Name Pos High School HS Grad College
Michael Alexander D West Islip (N.Y.) 2019 Yale
Jackson Bonitz D McDonogh (Md.) 2020 Navy
Kenny Brower D Massapequa (N.Y.) 2019 Duke
Graham Bundy Jr. M MICDS (Mo.) 2019 Georgetown
Jake Caputo M Middle Creek (N.C.) 2019 Duke
Liam Entenmann G Chaminade (N.Y.) 2019 Notre Dame
Brendan Grimes M Boys' Latin (Md.) 2020 Johns Hopkins
Patrick Hackler M Skaneateles (N.Y.) 2019 Yale
Patrick Kavanagh A Chaminade (N.Y.) 2019 Notre Dame
Cole Kirst A Seton Hall Prep (N.J.) 2018 Lehigh
CJ Kirst A Delbarton (N.J.) 2020 Cornell
Shane Knobloch M Moorestown (N.J.) 2020 Rutgers
Quentin Matsui D Eden Prairie (Minn.) 2019 Virginia
Jack Monfort M Syosset (N.Y.) 2019 Yale
Jake Naso FO St. Anthony's (N.Y.) 2020 Duke
Brennan O'Neill A St. Anthony's (N.Y.) 2020 Duke
Jared Paquette G West Islip (N.Y.) 2019 Yale
Danny Parker M St. Anthony's (N.Y.) 2019 Virginia
Ryan Schriber D Wilton (Conn.) 2019 Michigan
Alex Slusher A Oregon Episcopal School (Ore.) 2019 Princeton
Jacob Snyder D Calvert Hall (Md.) 2019 Ohio State
Alec Stathakis FO Culver Military (Ind.) 2019 Denver
Lance Tillman A Valor Christian (Colo.) 2019 North Carolina