Skip to main content
Resources for:

| Apr 20, 2022

Teams & Seedings Announced for 2022 USA Lacrosse WCLA National Championships

By Paul Ohanian | Photo courtesy of Boston College Club

SPARKS, Md.  — The undefeated Boston College Club has received the number one seed in the Division I bracket of the 2022 USA Lacrosse Women’s Collegiate Lacrosse Associates (WCLA) National Championships while Utah Valley University earned the No. 1 seed in the Division II bracket.

The WCLA National Championships showcase the nation’s premier non-varsity collegiate teams and will be played May 4-7 at the Multipurpose Complex in Round Rock, Texas. 

Featuring 16 Division I and 15 Division II teams, the tournament fields are comprised of a combination of teams earning automatic qualifiers as league champions and teams earning at-large berths. 

Boston College Club (12-0) is making its ninth overall and fifth straight appearance in the WCLA championship tournament. The Eagles had their best showing in 2014, finishing as the national championship runner-up. BC enters this year’s tournament as the automatic qualifier and champion from the New England Women's Lacrosse League (NEWLL).

Georgia (18-0) received the number two seed after winning the Southeastern Women’s Lacrosse League (SWLL) title. The Bulldogs were national champion in 2016 and are making their 14th overall tournament appearance. Virginia (7-0) is seeded third and Virginia Tech (11-2) is the number four seed. 

In the Division II bracket, Utah Valley (11-1) earned the top seed for the first time and will have a first round bye. Making their second appearance in the championship tournament, the Wolverines were the 2022 champions of the Rocky Mountain Women's Lacrosse League (RMWLL). 

Two-time national champion Loyola Maryland Club (10-1), making its eighth appearance in the event, is the number two seed after finishing as the Mid Atlantic Women's Lacrosse League’s champion. Grand Valley State Club (10-1) received the number three seed and UC San Diego (14-1) is seeded fourth.  

The WCLA features 230 Division I and Division II teams that compete under the USA Lacrosse umbrella. The annual WCLA National Championship began in 2001 with a Division I tournament. The Division II championship was added in 2010. 

Selections for the field are based on a variety of criteria, including, overall record, record versus ranked teams, results versus common opponents, quality wins/quality losses, head-to-head results, conference playoff performance, final conference standings, and more.

Both the D-I and D-II national semifinal and championship games on May 6 & 7 will be available for viewing via free streaming. 

DJO, MedStar Health, and Gatorade serve as the official event partners for the 2022 USA Lacrosse WCLA National Championships.

The Division I and II teams and seeds are listed below.

Division I Tournament
No. 1 Boston College Club (12-0)
No. 2 University of Georgia (18-0)
No. 3 University of Virginia Club (7-0) 
No. 4 Virginia Tech University Club (11-2)
No. 5 University of Florida Club (13-2)
No. 6 Arizona State University Club (13-0)  
No. 7 Brigham Young University (10-3)   
No. 8 University of Utah (8-3)
No. 9 University of California, Los Angeles (10-3)
No. 10 Florida State University (9-3)
No. 11 Clemson University (7-3)
No. 12 University of Michigan Club (5-5)
No. 13 University of Pittsburgh (11-4)  
No. 14 University of Texas (15-3)
No. 15 University of Washington (12-2)
No. 16 University of Delaware (8-4)

Division II Tournament
No. 1 Utah Valley University (11-1)
No. 2 Loyola University Maryland Club (10-1)
No. 3 Grand Valley State University Club (10-1)
No. 4 University of California, San Diego (14-1)
No. 5 University of St. Thomas (12-1)
No. 6 University of New Hampshire Club (7-1)
No. 7 California State University San Marcos (9-2)
No. 8 Providence College (6-2) 
No. 9 Oakland University (7-3)
No. 10 Boise State University (6-2)
No. 11 University of Portland (8-2)
No. 12 University of California, Santa Cruz (9-1)
No. 13 University of Vermont Club (6-3)
No. 14 University of Denver Club (4-5) 
No. 15 United States Air Force Academy (6-4)

More information about the 2022 USA Lacrosse WCLA National Championships, including game schedules and competition brackets, will be posted online at as it becomes available.