Skip to main content

Bruce Allison

Hall of Fame


Inducted 2011

Inducted as a truly great contributor, Allison was the head coach for Union College (1957-76) and then for Colorado School of Mines (1976-93). At both schools, he pulled double-duty by serving as director of athletics from 1972-1976 (Union) and from 1976-1995 (Colorado School of Mines). 

A former president, vice-president, and treasurer for both the United States Intercollegiate Lacrosse Association (USILA) and the USLCA, Allison also served as chairman of the NCAA Lacrosse Rules Committee from 1970 to 1974. During this time, he is credited with developing and implementing the NCAA lacrosse playoff system, which began in 1971. He was also instrumental in the formation of the Rocky Mountain Intercollegiate Lacrosse League in 1978. 

Allison was previously inducted into the US Lacrosse Adirondack Chapter Hall of Fame (2006), the US Lacrosse Colorado Chapter Hall of Fame (1995), the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics Hall of Fame (1995), the Colorado School of Mines Athletic Hall of Fame (2007), the Rocky Mountain Athletic Conference Hall of Fame (2006), the Union College Athletic Hall of Fame (2005) and the SUNY Cortland Athletic Hall of Fame (1988). Bruce Allison passed away on December 21, 2013 at age 83.