Skip to main content
Resources for:

Godekeraw Award

The MCLA's finest

The Godekeraw Award is presented each year by USA Lacrosse to the student-athlete in each division of the Men's Collegiate Lacrosse Association (MCLA) who has shown considerable success on the field, a 3.2 GPA or higher in the classroom and substantial community service record. It is the most prestigious award presented to an MCLA.

The Godekeraw Award is made possible through a generous gift from Dr. Laurence A. Feldman, founder of, to the USA Lacrosse Foundation. The winners of the award receive an engraved, hand-made stick crafted by the legendary Alf Jacques of the Onondaga Nation to honor their achievement.

All-Time Recipients

YearDivision IDivision II
2012Ted Ferrin, Brigham Young 
2013Austin Fisher, Colorado StateSteve Johnson, St. John's
2014 Charlie Farmer, Grand Valley
2015Josh Holland, Westminster 
2016Chris O'Brien, Georgia TechPat Mines, St. Thomas
2017Max McKone, Cal BerkeleyAndrew Sotis, St. Thomas
2018Jack Lamey, Grand CanyonEvan Schraut, North Dakota State
2019Nate Degroat, Cal BerkeleySam White, Dayton
2020No awards (COVID-19 Pandemic) 
2021No awards (COVID-19 Pandemic) 
2022Jake Cloutier, Concordia-IrvineGarett Hoch, St. Thomas