Skip to main content

C.M. Russell

Hall of Fame


Inducted 1989


Annapolis High School

Known with affection as the "Father of Anne Arundel County Lacrosse," Daffy Russell began his career in 1929 by founding the Annapolis High School lacrosse program as a senior at the school. In 1950, he co-founded the St. Mary's High School lacrosse program with Ed Coughlin. Although a goalie into his early 40s, Daffy is best known for his lacrosse coaching career of more than 40 years for the Annapolis lacrosse club, and for the Annapolis and St. Mary's High School teams, accumulating over 200 wins with only two losing seasons. 

A decorated WWII Navy veteran, Daffy received the Annapolis Touchdown Club award for excellence in coaching and citizenship five times in four decades, as well as the Hero's award as the outstanding Maryland high school coach in 1971 and 1972. In 1976, he received the Governor's Award for distinguished coaching and service and the Gelston Award for long service and overall contribution to lacrosse. In 1982, he was awarded the USLCA Award for 50 years of service to lacrosse and in 1983, Russell was inducted into the Maryland Athletic Directors' Hall of Fame. Daffy Russell passed away in 2001.