Skip to main content

Tewaaraton Native American Scholarships

Honoring the game’s Native American roots by investing in its next generation of leaders.

Established in 2006 and sponsored by USA Lacrosse, the Tewaaraton’s scholarship program annually recognizes two high school seniors, one Native American male and one Native American female, for academic achievement and lacrosse excellence.

How to apply

The application process is hosted on the Tewaaraton Foundation website. The next deadline for applications is April 30, 2021.

Start the Process 

"The Tewaaraton scholarship opened a lot of doors for me."

--Kason Tarbell, a member of St. Regis Mohawk Tribe and graduate of Cornell University

the details

  • Each scholarship recipient is awarded $10,000 for education — $5,000 for each of their first and second years in college. 
  • Applicants must be of Haudenosaunee descent, enrolled in a secondary school, and represent the highest ideals of sportsmanship to be eligible for the scholarship.
  • All awards are based on academic achievement, athletic performance, and other factors that demonstrate an applicant's ambition and potential to succeed.
  • Nominees will be asked to articulate what they have learned from playing the game of lacrosse that has prepared them for future success.
  • Male and female recipients and their families are invited to attend the Tewaaraton Award Ceremony, where the award is presented by USA Lacrosse.

Previous Winners

Year Female Male
2006 Lindsey Steeprock, Mohawk Nation Justin Gill, Oglala Sioux and Seneca Nations
2007 Mia McKie, Tuscarora Indian Nation, Turtle Clan Alexander Jimerson, Seneca Nations of Indians, Wolf Clan
2008 Corinne Abrams, Tuscarora Indian Nation, Turtle Clan Emmett Printup, Tonawanda Seneca, Turtle Clan
2009 Trenna Hill, of Mohawk Decent Issac “Ike” Hopper, Onondaga Nation
2010 Taylor Hummel, Tuscarora Indian Nation, White Bear Clan Kyle Henry, Tuscarora Indian Nation, White Bear Clan
2011 Kristiana Ferguson, Tuscarora Indian Nation Christopher White, Oneida Nation
2012 Marissa Haring, Seneca Nation Bradley Thomas, Tuscarora Indian Nation
2013 Cassandra Minerd, Onondaga Nation, Eel Clan Robert McMicking, Cayuga Nation, Wolf Clan
2014 Alie Jimerson, Cayuga Nation, Bear Clan Kason Tarbell, St. Regis Mohawk Tribe
2015 Lynnzee Miller, Mohawk Nation, Wolf Clan Chaunce Hill, Six Nations Seneca, Turtle Clan
2016 Jade Haumann, Seneca Nation, Wolf Clan Emerson Shenandoah, Mohawk Nation, Snipe Clan
2017 Shayla Scanlan, Seneca Nation of Indians, Wolf Clan Liam Anderson, Tuscarora Nation, Turtle Clan
2018 Ivy Santana, Seneca Nation of Indians, Wolf Clan Lyle Warrior, Seneca Nation of Indians
2019 Jacelyn Lazore and Mirabella Lazore, Akwesasne Mohawk Nation, Wolf Clan Isaiah Cree, Akwesasne Mohawk Nation, Wolf Clan
2020 Yanenowi Logan, Seneca Nation, Deer Clan Cobie Cree, Akwesasne Mohawk Nation, Bear Clan